WATCH OUT for Cookie Cutter Programs

Yeah, that is right, no more cookies!
     What am I specifically talking about? A cookie cutter program is a term that describes a “one-program fits all” mentality with the belief that any lifting program works for anyone.  Basically, if I go online and search for the greatest arm workout, whatever I find is king and will/should work.  We have all probably done this, especially me considering I was an avid believer in the college programs I had printed throughout the years. 
     I can remember during my first year of college buying Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Encyclopedia of Bodybuilding and thinking that I was going to be a shredded huge behemoth as a result of the so-called lifting regimens he put on there.  I did indeed pack on some muscle, mainly due  to dedication and consistency, both of which I never had done with any lifting program previously.  But did I have a bodybuilder body?  No.  Did I lift the correct way all the time?  Probably not.  Were the nagging injuries due to overuse and a lifting program that was not good for me as an individual? Yes.  I am not saying that all program suggestions are completely wrong because there are certainly a lot of guys out there that suggest great things, but these programs may not take into account some very important aspects to a training program.
 
                                                                               
              99.9 percent of the time you will not look like this if this guy gave you his whole workout program
 
Problems w/ Cookie Cutter Programs… (taken from Eric Cressey)
  • Lack structural balance
  • Forget to take into account the training age of the individual
  • Do not take into account individual injury history
  • What looks good on the paper can hurt in the real world

So when looking at programming (I for one need to keep working to improve this for myself and athletes) consider these things, it will significantly help you to prevent injuries, build muscle, lose fat, and improve performance.

Factors to Consider… (also provided by Eric Cressey)

  • Goals
  • Training and Chronological Age
  • Injury History, Existing Imbalances, Structural balance
  • Scheduling
  • Equipment availability
  • Deloading
  • Training environment and partners
  • Mobility, Soft-tissue, passive flexibilities, cardiovascular, and recovery work.

This could be one example of what some programs are telling people to do….SMH (this means shake my head right?)

 


Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

