End on a Good Note

Today, I wanted to write about ending lifts on a good note.  When I coached the sprinters and hurdlers at Gloucester Catholic, during intense practices that consisted of high intensity/low volume sprints I tended to end practices on great running times.  Meaning, if our sprints met personal record times or we hit a consistent amount of great times (tempo runs) that we would call it a day.  Even if it was not on the agenda for that day, I knew that certain days needed high intensities and they should be rewarded with less work and more rest.  As I am training athletes, the principle can still hold true.  If during a certain movement, an athlete goes up and successfully completes that lift that was his heaviest (and was pretty tough keeping quality form),  I still tend to back them off of that weight because they (1) hit a PR and (2) leaves them on a positive note instead of possibly failing the next set.  This tendency also goes off of “feeling.” If I feel that the athlete could stay with the same weight, then I am going to tell them that.

The 110 high hurdles and 400 hurdles still get me pumped up when I watch it

With my own training, I notice that this has become more and more critical for personal records (if that is your goal for lifting).  Take for example the Trap-Bar Deadlift.  Recently, I hit a PR at 455 x 1.  My training program that day was 4 x 5 but feeling good, I wanted to see if I could set a PR.  I hit the PR on my 3 set and then backed down some weight for my final set.  Fatigue is one of those things that causes injuries, so just when you want to keep going up in weight that day, take a second and rethink to yourself that hitting a PR is enough, your training session was successful.  These heavy lifts or PR days need adequate recovery.  So after training days like this, get a bunch of quality food and adequate sleep, which is definitely hard for me to do when drinking SPIKES, glory to local 7/11 for these.  However, when I do get adequate sleep (8-10 hrs), there is a major difference in the next day and days to come.

Moral of the story…

  • When hitting PR or heavy lifts – it may be best to back off the next set weight-wise since you probably just set that nervous system of yours through the roof
  • Every training session does not have to be a “set a PR” day.
  • Get plenty of sleep and good nutrition to help with recovery.
  • End on a good note, aint’ nothing wrong ending on a positive note!

Cheers,

Matt



Categories: Strength Training

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

