1st Interview: Athletic Development Coach Kevin Carr

     I have always wanted to interview other strength coaches that are willing to share some of the knowledge and information they have gained from working at a different facility.  There is much to learn being a young strength coach and to get different perspectives on training.  I asked both Kevin Carr and Brendon Rearick to answer a few questions pertaining to the field and they were awesome enough to take some time out of their busy schedule to answer the questions.  I am very thankful that they did.  For those who do not know, these guys are coaches at Mike Boyle Strength and Conditioning located in Woburn, MA.  Their athletic development facility was voted the #1 gym in America by Men’s Health, and deservedly so. 

First up, Kevin Carr…

1) Kevin, I wanted to thank you for taking some time out of your day to do this interview.  Before we even start, introduce yourself to any readers who read this interview.  What is your training background, how did you get involved in the industry, and why do you love it?

 I am a strength and conditioning coach at Mike Boyle’s Strength and Conditioning in Woburn, Massachusetts. I have a bachelors in Kinesiology form UMass Amherst and I am currently enrolled in a massage therapy program at The Cortiva Institute. 

I grew up as a multi-sport athlete and like many in this field fell in love with the weight room in high school. I have evolved from a complete meathead to becoming a well-rounded strength and conditioning coach and personal trainer. My first real exposure to strength and conditioning was a summer internship with Mike Boyle’s Strength and Conditioning in 2008 the summer after my sophomore year in college. Ever since then I have been at MBSC coaching as much as possible and learning from anyone I can.

Currently, Brendon and myself function as co-internship coordinators at MBSC while also maintaining a full training schedule of personal training clients and athletic development groups. I have a clientele that varies from adults looking to lose weight to high school hockey players to Word-Class Olympians and Professional athletes.

2) Who has influenced you the most with regards to your training philosophy..and what is your training philosophy?

 Without a doubt Mike Boyle has been my biggest influence as a strength coach. He has been a great mentor to me. In addition to Mike, the coaches who were working at MBSC when I first started like Jaime Rodriguez, Nicole Rodriguez, Dan Gableman and Kyle Holland all taught me how to be a great coach.

 3) Considering we are the next generations of coaches, what is some of the advice you would give to interns and those interested in wanting to pursue a career in the field?

 Coach as much as possible. Hands on experience, learning what works, what doesn’t and how to communicate with your athletes is invaluable. Get brilliant at the basics and never stop learning. 

 4) What are your personal goals for the next few years (personal or professional, training, education-related)

 Professionally, I want to set Mike Boyle’s Strength and Conditioning apart from every other gym in the country. I plan on building this business and making it more successful each year I work here. For me, this means offering more training options, bringing in more athletes and clients and continuing to improve our staff.

 In addition to this I want to offer the best internship and mentorship programs available in the industry. I love talking about training and providing an educational resource for other coaches so that we can improve the quality of trainers in our field..

Educationally, I’ll always continue learning, reading, and coaching. I plan on completing my Massage Therapy program in the next year and becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

  5) If you had to create a top 5 recommended reading list, what would they be (could be training/non-training related)

 How To Win Friends And Influence People- Dale Carnegie

Advances In Functional Training – Mike Boyle

Practical Programming – Mark Rippetoe and Lon Kilgore

Today Matters – John Maxwell

Movement – Gray Cook

 6) DO NO HARM. This is the #1 rule of the strength coach. What do you think are the most effective strategies that people can do to make their training effective and efficient while decreasing their chance of injury substantially?

Screen all your clients. The FMS provides a perfect screen to tell you what you cannot do with someone.  In addition to this use common sense and demand technical proficiency. Coaches shouldn’t rely on “good enough.” I have never seen a perfect deadlift or bench that hurt someone, it’s always the ugly ones.

Again, I wanted to thank him for this interview and hopefully those that read realize the darn good information these guys put out.  To reach Kevin and see the great information he is providing, go to CoachKevCarr.com 

 



Categories: Injury Prevention, Recommended Resources, Strength Training

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

Trackbacks

  1. 2nd Interview with Athletic Development Coach: Brendon Rearick | Matt Siniscalchi Strength & Conditioning
  2. Inspired Fit Strong – Favorite Reads of the Week: 04/28/12
  3. Inspired Fit Strong – Най-интересните статии, които прочетох: 04/28/12

Leave a Reply

