A Shot At Glory: Training Good People, Not Just Good Athletes

Over this past weekend I had mistakenly found a movie I purchased 4-5 years ago called A Shot at Glory.  I also found “Goal!,” which was another soccer movie that I love, so the weekend was gloriously filled with beautiful football besides the Seattle Sounders v. Red Bull game.  I popped in the DVD and realized that there are some really bad Scottish accents in it!  Let me give you a quick summary of the movie.  A lower-level Scottish football club decides to take a chance on a tremendous football striker, only he is past his prime, had divorced the coaches daughter early in his career, and has a life of troubles.  Even so, throughout the movie he begins to improve his life (all facets), leads the team all the way to the Scottish Cup versus powerhouse Rangers FC, and loses in PK’s (his shot, the last, gets saved).  That’s it?  All that, to fail?  Not really.  One of the overwhelming takeaways from the movie happens to be a scene where the team has a celebratory pre-cup match dinner.  The coach gives a speech and said something so profound that I am ashamed at myself for forgetting it…

“I don’t care if you’re a good player or a bad player, but if you’re are good person, I’ll work with ya.”

As coaches, we love to get these stud athletes who move well, jack up heavy weights, and make the atmosphere damn near exhilarating.  However, I have to say that as a coach, there is nothing better than an athlete or person who is willing to listen, learn, and work their butts off in training and in their sport regardless of their skill level.  These are the guys and girls that make significant strides (maybe more than the elite levelers) in their performance, training, and growing as a person at our facility.   Combine a hard-working, good listening, great person, and talented athlete?  We have the makings of a beast!  Seriously, I have never heard a coach in sports or training that does not love working with someone who has all the qualities I listed in the previous sentence.

cheesy, I know

Now, someone who has all this talent but has a destructive, down-right shi**y attitude?  Yes, he/she may get somewhere and make millions but I do not believe people will want to be around to help you.  That is not the definition of success in my opinion.  A simple movie, that brought out a great message, regardless of the terrible Scottish accents :).  If you are an athlete or personal training client, remember that caring, being attentive, and being a good person goes a long way. It inspires coaches and the people around you.

Cheers,

Matt



Categories: Recommended Resources

2 replies

  1. Great article. Forwarded it to my kids. (Wow that’s some beard in your facebook pic! Probably too hot for the summer:)

Leave a Reply

